MONASTERIES AND CHURCHES

St. Hildegard Benedictine Abbey

Visit the St. Hildegard Abbey in the midst of the vineyards above Rüdesheim. The community of nuns lives according to the rules of St. Benedict and following the tradition of St. Hildegard of Bingen. Their lives are characterised by prayer and work, contemplation and action, seclusion and hospitality. When you reach the Klosterberg hill, you can first enjoy the spectacular view over the Middle Rhine Valley. You can also visit the pretty abbey church and admire the magnificent frescoes in the style of the Beuron School of Art or simply spend some time in contemplative silence. The large monastery shop offers a wide selection of books, cards, art from the monastery’s own workshops, fine wines, prosecco and liqueurs from the monastery winery, as well as spelt products, herbal teas and Hildegard herbs.

Stop off at the integrative monastery cafe, which offers small meals and cakes from the monastery kitchen, as well as a breakfast buffet on selected weekend dates. The Herring Dinner on Shrove Tuesday and the St. Martin’s goose dinner before Christmas have been a tradition for some time.
Contact: +49 (0) 67 22/ 4 99-0
www.abtei-st-hildegard.de/english 

Former monastery of Nothgottes

The pilgrimage church was built in 1390 by the Rüdesheim Brömser knights, while the monastery buildings date back to 1622. Today, the church’s holy statue can be found in the St. Jakobus parish church in Rüdesheim.

Enquire now about visits in large groups or a hike with the St. Hildegard Abbey nuns.

We would be pleased to advise you on your individual experience in Rüdesheim.

Heilig Kreuz

parish church,

Assmannshausen

Construction of the Heilig Kreuz (Holy Cross) parish church in Rüdesheim-Assmannshausen took place over several decades in the 14th century. The first written mention of the church dates from 1325. The high altar, formerly a crucifixion altar, was replaced by a Gothic-style winged altar in 1872. A painting donated by the School of M. Grünewald (15th century) was inserted into the centrepiece.

St. Jakobus Catholic

parish church

The St. Jakobus church on the Marktplatz square dates from the 14th century and is said to have been built by the knight Johann Brömser. The tower is topped by a weather vane with a crescent moon and a star in memory of the crusades in which the knight took part. After being almost completely destroyed in 1944, it was rebuilt in Rhenish quarry stone masonry. The medieval portrait tombstones of the Rüdesheim nobility and the Gothic tympanum are interesting features.

St. Hildegard Catholic

parish church

Today, the Catholic parish and pilgrimage church of St. Hildegard, rebuilt between 1932 and 1935 after a fire and incorporating earlier stylistic elements, stands on the foundations of the former monastery founded by Hildegard of Bingen in 1165. The church houses the Hildegardis shrine with the bones of St. Hildegard of Bingen. Every year on 17 September, the anniversary of Hildegard’s death, large numbers of pilgrims flock to Eibingen to participate in the procession of relics in honour of the saint.

Protestant church

Built in 1855 as the first protestant church in the Rheingau region. The vine window from 1968 with biblical parables and scenes about wine is particularly worth seeing.

Hildegard land

You can find additional information about Hildegard of Bingen on the shared official information page of the towns Bingen and Rüdesheim am Rhein.

× Stelle eine Frage per WhatsApp

MONASTERIES AND CHURCHES

Benediktinerinnen Abtei St. Hildegard

Besuchen Sie die Abtei der hl. Hildegard mitten in den Weinbergen oberhalb von Rüdesheim. Die Gemeinschaft von Klosterfrauen lebt nach der Regel des hl. Benedikt und in der Tradition der hl. Hildegard von Bingen. Gebet und Arbeit, Kontemplation und Aktion, Zurückgezogenheit und Gastfreundschaft kennzeichnen ihr Leben. Wenn Sie auf den Klosterberg kommen, können Sie zunächst den wunderbaren Ausblick über das Mittelrheintal genießen. Sie können aber ebenso in der sehenswerten Abteikirche die herrlichen Fresken im Stil der Beuroner Kunstschule betrachten oder einfach nur in Stille verweilen. Der große Klosterladen lädt zum Einkauf ein. Hier finden Sie eine reiche Auswahl an Büchern, Karten, Kunst aus den eigenen Kunstwerkstätten sowie erlesene Weine, Sekt und Likör aus dem Klosterweingut. Hier gibt es auch Dinkelprodukte, Kräutertees und Hildegard-Gewürze.

Einkehren im Klostercafé: Das integrative Klostercafé bietet kleine Speisen und Kuchen aus der Klosterküche, an einigen Terminen am Wochenende auch Frühstücksbuffet. Das Heringsessen an Fastnacht und das Martinsgansessen vor Weihnachten haben schon eine gewisse Tradition.
Kontakt: +49 (0) 67 22/ 4 99-0
www.abtei-st-hildegard.de

Ehemaliges Kloster Nothgottes

Die Wallfahrtskirche wurde 1390 von den Rittern Brömser zu Rüdesheim erbaut, die Klostergebäude stammen aus dem Jahr 1622. Das Gnadenbild der Kirche findet sich heute in der Pfarrkirche St. Jakobus in Rüdesheim.

Stellen Sie jetzt Ihre Anfrage für Besichtigungen in größeren Gruppen oder eine Wanderung mit den Nonnen der Abtei St. Hildegard.
Wie beraten Sie gerne zu Ihrem individuellen Erlebnis in Rüdesheim.

Pfarrkirche Heilig Kreuz Assmannshausen

Der Bau der Pfarrkirche Heilig Kreuz in Rüdesheim-Assmannshausen erstreckte sich über mehrere Jahrzehnte des 14. Jahrhunderts. Erstmals wird sie 1325 urkundlich erwähnt. Der Hochaltar, früher ein Kreuzaltar, wurde 1872 durch einen Flügelaltar im gotischen Stil ersetzt. In das Mittelstück fügte man ein gestiftetes Gemälde aus der Schule von M. Grünewald (15. Jahrhundert) ein.

Katholische Pfarrkirche St. Jakobus

Die Kirche St. Jakobus am Marktplatz stammt aus dem 14. Jahrhundert und soll von Ritter Johann Brömser erbaut worden sein. Den Turm krönt eine Wetterfahne mit Halbmond und Stern zur Erinnerung an die Kreuzzüge, an welchen der Ritter teilnahm. Nach fast vollständiger Zerstörung im Jahr 1944 wurde sie in rheinischem Bruchstein-Mauerwerk wieder aufgebaut. Interessant sind die mittelalterlichen Bildnisgrabsteine des Rüdesheimer Adels sowie das gotische Tympanon.

Katholische Pfarrkirche St. Hildegard

Auf den Fundamenten des ehemaligen, 1165 von Hildegard von Bingen gegründeten Klosters befindet sich heute die katholische Pfarr- und Wallfahrtskirche St. Hildegard, nach Brand 1932 bis ins Jahr 1935 unter Berücksichtigung früherer Stilelemente wiederaufgebaut. In der Kirche wird der Hildegardis-Schrein mit den Gebeinen der Heiligen Hildegard von Bingen aufbewahrt. Alljährlich strömen am 17. September, dem Todestag Hildegards, viele Wallfahrer nach Eibingen, um an der Reliquienprozession zu Ehren der Heiligen teilzunehmen.

Evangelische Kirche

Erbaut 1855 als erste evangelische Kirche im Rheingau. Sehenswert ist das Weinstockfenster aus dem Jahr 1968 mit biblischen Gleichnissen und Szenen über den Wein.

Land der Hildegard

Weiterführende Informationen zu Hildegard von Bingen erhalten Sie auf der gemeinsamen. offiziellen Informationsseite der Städte Bingen und Rüdesheim am Rhein.

× Stelle eine Frage per WhatsApp